Willow Band Teacher Resigns, School Hires 3 New Teachers

The Willow Springs School Board approved the resignation of Band Director Trevor Turner and paraprofessional Sonya Williams during its May meeting on Monday. The board also approved five new hires, including three new teachers. 
The open meeting began with Debbie Bryan being sworn in as a board member and the board recognizing the top five Senior Project Presenters: Emma Spence, Maddie Poor, Isabella Autrey, Clayton Wake, and Tate Cochran. Cochran gave his presentation to the board titled “Centered on Christ”. This presentation focused on church youth groups.
The hiring and resignations were covered in the consent agenda. New hires to the school approved by the board included Jake Brookshire as a high school science teacher and Kaitlyn Battreal and Becky Murphy as special education teachers. Two new substitutes were also hired -- Sayle Owens and Peter Sommerer. 
The board heard the administrator's reports during the meeting and learned that State Representative David Evans had contacted the high school to inform them that $500,000 had been added to the state budget bill for improvements to the school. This would allow the school to finish moving the agriculture program, Fax program, the shop program, getting rid of the special education trailers and moving those classes. Evans' call was prior to any line-item vetoes by Governor Mike Parson. 
Content Paywall Trunction: 

Howell County News

110 W. Main St.,
Willow Springs, MO 65793

Comment Here